SYTYCD: Step It Up, Guys!

June 18, 2009

'So You Think You Can Dance' logo

'So You Think You Can Dance' logo

The Top 18 performances this week were not at the same level (in any form) as last week. It was kind of distressing to see them do such a good job last week and suck this week.

Come on … I’m especially aggravated by the hip-hop routines. The four they have had this season have all blowed … and they usually are some of the most memorable routines out of the entire season. I would blame the dancers, but the routines seem bland and recycled from past shows.
Let’s just get into the best routines … Personally, I thought Melissa Sandvig & Ade Obayomi, Jonathan Platero & Karla Garcia and Max Kapitannikov & Kayla Radomski were the silver lining during this poor episode.

Jonathan & Karla truly redeemed themselves from their not-so-great Cha-Cha last week with a contemporary piece from Canadian choreographer Stacey Tookey. I completely agree with Mary Murphy … Jonathan is much better at contemporary than his own genre. Karla was beautiful and told the story of the routine masterfully. I am excited these two kicked up their competition … neither of them really got the attention they deserved during the auditions and I think they could be front-runners.

Ade & Melissa did a Jazz routine from quirky choreogrpher Sonya Tayeh that was dazzling in chemistry and dance ability. I think Melissa is spectacular and has proved herself in all the dances thrown at her. Sonya’s routines generally favor the men, however, I believe Melissa matched the strength of everything Ade did on that stage. Obviously, I give props to Ade … He has definitely proven to be more than just a prop to Melissa …

Kayla & Max did a routine by Brian Friedman that was really off-beat and fun to watch. I agree with the judges that Kayla has done nothing wrong since the auditions … she will be in the Top 10. Max can carry his own weight and I don’t believe he’s been given the credit he deserves. Both of the dancers really captured the essence of the characters and produced an entertaining routine … What more can you ask??

Jason Glover, Caitlin Kinney, Kupono Aweau & Ashley Valerio were given hip-hop routines and they all kind of sucked … I don’t believe it was all their fault … the choreography was kind of lame, but I hope viewers look at the dancers and realize how great they have been on the show thus far.

Phillip Chbeeb & Jeanine Mason did a Tango which was probably the worst routine of the night. However, Phillip has been such a powerhouse throughout the competition I doubt he’ll even be considered for the bottom.

Brandon Bryant & Janette Manrana did an extremely fast Disco routine, but I’m kind of sick of Brandon. I can’t really pin-point what it is about his personality that I don’t like … I just know that all my attention was focused on Janette.

Randi Evans & Evan Kasprzak performed a Jive routine that was good, but not as fun and enjoyable to watch as their last routine. Personally, I think these two are a great couple and I don’t see them going anywhere.

Vitolio Jeune & Asuka Kondoh were given the Waltz … They both performed it well, however, I feel like Asuka carried Vitolio during the performance. Last week, this couple landed in the bottom … I wouldn’t be surprised if they landed there again.

Honestly, I don’t know who is going in the bottom this week. I think everyone has an equal chance of landing in the bottom, but I don’t know who the judges would send home.

** Jason & Caitlin, Kupono & Ashley and Max & Kayla all landed in the bottom. I don’t know if I completely agree with this conclusion, but what can I do??

Ashley & Max were the unlucky dancers sent home. I figured they would be the dancers sent home because their solos weren’t as upbeat or exciting as the others. Hopefully, it’ll be better next week.

2 Responses to “SYTYCD: Step It Up, Guys!”

  1. vickyvicks0 said

    jonathan needs to change styles!
    he was amazing in this one. he improves.. kinda shockes to be honest.

    • projectryan said

      I was shocked as well … He’s a very talented dancer and it sucks he’s been kicked off now 😦

Leave a Reply

