Lady GaGa Blasts Dance into America

July 5, 2009

Lady GaGa

Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta a.k.a. Lady GaGa

Two thoughts that popped into my mind after I saw Lady GaGa for the first time on So You Think You Can Dance last year was that she looked like a plastic surgery replication of Christina Aguilera … However, I also believed she would burst into the limelight because of her unique style and oddball tendencies … Different is definitely refreshing in today’s music industry.

I recently watched her music video for ‘Love Game’ on VH1 (shockingly I never watch music videos) … and I think it’s pretty fucking cool to see someone who has a crazy sense of style, addicting songs and over-the-top sexuality who was not formerly a member of the Mickey Mouse brat pack.

asdfasdf

Lady GaGa on Rolling Stone magazine

Honestly, I absolutely loved ‘Just Dance’ … even if the song got overplayed on the radio … I think it was one of the best songs of last year. Needless to say, I’m super excited to see that dance music is making an uprising in the music biz.

I’m sure there are people who think pop music is just another form of dance music … and pop music idols Britney Spears, Madonna or Rihanna could be pioneers in dance music, but I think they’re albums only submit a few songs to dance … where Lady GaGa’s album The Fame is a complete dance record.

To go off topic for a bit … When I walked into Border’s and saw her on the cover of Rolling Stone magazine a couple months back for their annual ‘Hot Issue’ … I flipped out cause the cover was very provocative and sexy … Personally, I was getting fed up with the safe and bland covers the iconic mag had been shoving into stores, but this was modern, fun and pure GaGa. The photographs bizarre photographer David LaChapelle took of the up-and-coming starlet were some of the best he’s ever taken …

Sure, she may be a former drug-addict (but, honestly, what singer hasn’t been addicted to something nowadays?), be allergic to pants and look tremendously better as a brunette … but, she’s fun, crazy and what the majority of music lovers need … someone to make them smile and DANCE!

Leave a Reply

