SYTYCD: Addiction, Crime & Tango

August 10, 2009

'So You Think You Can Dance' logo

'So You Think You Can Dance' logo

This was the first week the couples performed two routines and I was shocked at how well all the couples did with each style thrown at them. Since this is going to be the last week these couples perform together, I’m sure they all worked their asses off to make the Top 10.

I absolutely loved the routine on addiction Mia Michaels choreographed for Kupono Aweau & Kayla Radomski. Even if it was an emotional piece for Kupono (he lost someone to addiction) … I don’t believe he or Kayla let their emotions take over their performance. The sinister smile Kupono had throughout the entire routine was spine-tingling and Kayla was tragically beautiful. Personally, I think Nigel Lythgoe’s assessment on Kayla’s hair was wierd. I thought it added to the routine (the messiness). Nevertheless, they both performed with amazing strength and beauty. This is one of my favorite routines this entire season …

The Broadway routine they performed was not the best I have seen on the show, but it was kind of cute to see them ‘fall in love’ … I haven’t really been too enthralled with the Broadway pieces this season anyway … and that’s all I’ve really got to say on that.

I know I haven’t been the biggest supporter of Brandon Bryant (although I love his partner Janette Manrana). I must give them both props for their killer performances. In particular, I thought the Wade Robson routine was quirky and interesting to watch … with a very Bonnie and Clyde-esque vibe. The two had superb technique and mastered the strange and brilliant mind of Robson.

I’ve never been a big fan of Tango … it’s a very intense dance with a ton of emotion and power (which numerous couples have failed to produce). I think Brandon & Janette were brilliant and made the Tango interesting to watch. I just wish I appreciated Brandon’s talent as much as everyone else …

Melissa Sandvig & Ade Obayomi have been at the top since the beginning of the show. This week, however, they did not impress me … The Disco routine showcased Ade’s strength and the fact Melissa could handle being thrown around like a rag doll, but it did not have the same spark as some of their previous routines.

The Waltz the couple performed was beautiful … Nevertheless, I think it was just a magnificent way to end their relationship as a couple … and that’s it …

Randi Evans & Evan Kasprzak did a hip-hop routine from Tabitha & Napoleon D’umo which was kind of mediocre. The premise seemed interesting enough … Randi is pregnant and Evan is her boyfriend, but I just didn’t believe the two of them as hip-hop dancers …

The couple also performed a Samba choreographed by previous competitors Anya Garnis and Pasha Kovalev … Now, if the two previous competitors had performed it probably would have been spectacular, but they didn’t and it really wasn’t … Oh, well … They are still a good couple … and I think they’ll make it far.

Jason Glover & Caitlin Kinney performed a masterful lyrical Jazz routine from Mandy Moore. They both had beautiful lines, great strength and technique. They were extremely lucky to recieve a style that was their own cause they’ve got a lot to prove based on their past performances. It wasn’t the most entertaining piece … but, then again, Mandy Moore’s routines usually aren’t …

The couple also did a Foxtrot, which was good, but not really superb or exciting to watch. I can understand why the judges thought the routine was good, but not at the same level as some of their other performances … but, it’s a Foxtrot … the routines are usually boring.

Sadly … Jeanine Mason & Phillip Chbeeb performed a Russian folk dance that could probably be counted as one of the worst performances in the history of the show. They both seemed to have fun doing it, but I truly hated it …

On the other hand, they also performed a fun Jive routine. The characters they played were fun and cute, but in no way did this performance cancel out their previous routine … I feel for them, because I think they’re both very talented and should continue in the competition … I guess we’ll have to wait and see …

**  To my surprise Melissa & Ade landed in the bottom … of course they weren’t eliminated. Sadly, Caitlin and Phillip were kicked off today’s episode.

I think with Phillip out of the show we are going to miss out on a lot of spectacular hip-hop. Now, what I don’t understand is why eight of the Top 10 are contemporary dancers … isn’t that wierd? Well, I can’t wait for the Top 10 … I have a feeling it’s going to be great.

Leave a Reply

